Redress Control Numbers to entry to USA

redress control number

The Redress Control Number is a seven-digit number given to people who have applied for the Department of Homeland Security Travel Redress Inquiry Program (DHS TRIP).

For some foreign nationals, traveling to the US may have caused them an issue in the past. For instance, the airline delayed their boarding, or their entry to the U.S. was denied. These travelers have the option to sign up at the DHS Trip to avoid delays or issues in the future.

What is the DHS Trip?

The DHS TRIP stands for the Department of Homeland Security Traveler Redress Inquiry Program. It is for travelers who have been repeatedly identified for additional security screening, who want to avoid it happening again. Applicants are given a number, known as a redress number.

This program has been designed to assist passengers who have had issues entering or traveling to the United States in previous travels.

The DHS Trip is a single point of contact for individuals who have doubts, issues, or want resolution in regards to challenges they have faced during travel screenings.

Issues that some foreign visitors may have experienced include:

  • Watch list issues
  • Screeing difficulties at ports of entry
  • Situations where a traveler feels that they were unfairly or incorrectly delayed
  • Situations where a traveler feels that they were unfairly or incorrectly denied boarding or had to undergo additional screening at a transportation hub

Do I need a redress number?

The redress number is optional and not relevant for most travelers. Not everyone has one and if you are asked for a redress number for travel purposes (when filling out a form for example), you may leave it blank.

Most foreign visitors are able to travel to the US without having to apply for a redress control number. On the other hand, if as a traveler a person has experienced unfair screening, they can sign up at the DHS Trip.

All foreign travelers who wish to visit the United States, whether for transit, tourism, or business purposes, must have a valid entry permit. Nationals of over 30 countries are eligible to obtain the ESTA, which is an electronic travel authorization. Eligible visitors may apply online for the US ESTA. Each applicant can complete their ESTA registration form in a few minutes by providing their personal and passport information. The ESTA visa waiver grants its holders stays of up to 90 days in the country. All other foreigners must obtain either a B1 or B2 short-term stays visas at an embassy or consulate.

Who needs to apply for a redress number?

Applying for the redress number is not obligatory. However, the system is designed to help travelers who feel they have been unfairly treated during security screening procedures at ports of entry. The system aims to welcome legitimate travelers while securing US borders.

How to apply for the redress number?

Applying for a redress number is a simple and straightforward process. DHS Trip has made an online form available for interested travelers. The applicant simply needs to have access to an Internet connection to fill out their details. On the application, the traveler can submit their complaint.

After the inquiry is completed, the traveler will receive their redress number, which can be used to make an airline reservation.

Tracking the DHS TRIP Inquiry

After the DHS TRIP has received an individual’s inquiry/complaint, the system will check that all the required has been provided. After this first check, the application will move forward to the next step.

All involved agencies will review the application and make the necessary updates to that individual’s records. DHS TRIP will send a final determination letter to the traveler.

Each person who completes a DHS TRIP form will be able to follow the status of their inquiry by checking a status page. On this page, they can see whether the case is in process, has been completed, or requires additional information.

When do you need to use a redress number?

A redress number will be useful when making reservations with airlines or updating an airline profile. The redress number aims to help passengers who have been misidentified in the past, by allowing the Transportation Security Administration (TSA) to match travelers with the results of their redress case.

What is a TSA pre-check?

The TSA pre-check is different from the DHS TRIP (for which you need the redress number). The TSA pre-check allows low-risk passengers to take advantage of expedited customs processing at participating in US airports, where there are separate queuing lanes, designed to be quicker.

What is a Known traveler Number (KTN)?

To use the TSA pre-check, passengers need a Known Traveler Number (KTN), also called a Trusted Traveler Number. The KTN is issued by the TSA and shows that the person has undergone a pre-flight background check before checking in for a flight.

It is not necessary to have KTN or a redress number to apply for an ESTA to travel to the US.

What do I need to travel to the US?

Foreign nationals who wish to travel to the US for short-term and long-term stays must apply for the appropriate authorization or permit.

For short-term stays international travelers have the following options:

  • Apply for an ESTA visa waiver online
  • Apply for a B1 or B2 visa through an embassy or consulate

Visitors should know that a social media security check may be required when applying for a visa or a visa waiver.

All foreign nationals should be aware of the travel documents needed to travel to the USA. It is also important to understand the acronyms and jargon which are used within the US security screening procedures, and used by airlines:

  • Redress control numbers
  • TSA pre-checks
  • Known Traveler Numbers (KPN)

By using our website you accept our Cookies Policy. Click here, to know more. I agree